My dad

Annual fathers day rummage through the photo collection and I'm sure I haven't posted this one before. Mum is in the left of the picture with me sitting on her lap and my elder sister Kim is sitting on the other ladies lap. Afraid I don't know who she is, but the chap on the right is uncle Alan, one of my dad's brothers. I'm sure this is a wedding as I can't imagine that they got dressed like this to go to the British Legion, their regular watering hole on a weekend. Probably the wedding of one of dad's siblings but I'm not sure, could be Ronnie and Brenda and my age would put this at 1960/61. I'll rely on Linda (Brenda's sister) to set me right as she is the fountain of all knowledge when it comes to my photo archive :-)

Long walk with Diana and Tim planned for today. Lunch at the Lilly Arms, an old fashioned pub run by an old couple and to be honest if we turned up dressed like the people in this photo, we would 't look out of place. BBQ in the evening - don't you just love the summer months?

Today's extra remains my favourite family photo. Margate circa 1965. My memories:

- Lorraine getting her head stuck in the staircase spindles in the B&B
- Butter curls served with the toast at breakfast
- A bar in the dining room
- Getting badly sunburned - my back is still covered in freckles and they first appeared on this holiday

P.S. Who says socks and sandals don't work, I'm rocking it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.