If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Red Letter Day.

This morning I looked out of the Living Room window and noticed my "indicator nuts" had gone.  The a red streak caught my eye.  Well actually 2 red streaks chasing one another across the lawn up various trees and across the lawn.  Clickychick pointed out that there were actually 3 with one permanently in the tree.

After a few minutes of furious activity "White tail" was left sitting on top of the feeder like the king of the castle.  I took a few shots but the feeder is a bit too far away.

In the afternoon I put out some more "indicator nuts" and discovered that either squirrels have telescopes or use ESP.  Not a squirrel in sight.  I had hardly got back into the house before "Lightning" was on the table.  Lightning is the dark tailed one with no ear tufts, so called because it hardly pauses on the table.

So a day with our largest number of squirrels seen at one time ever! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.