Winsford

By Winsford

I

Investigating in Perth: a trip to Perth taking in the museum, shops and a visit to Greyfriars Burial Ground to find the grave of my 1st cousin 6 times removed David Sharp (extra). I have a number of ancestors in this graveyard but this is the first time I have found a headstone. 

Searching has been made harder by the decision of P&K Council to allow sections to become overgrown to attract widelife as shown in main picture.

This grave was erected by William Fenwick in memory of his wife Jane Ewan Sinclair and two of their daughters who died in infancy.   Further investigations on Ancestry and Scotland Peoples revealed that Jane died in 1878 aged 39 of typhoid fever. Daughter Mary died aged 19 days of bronchitis and sister Jane aged 18mths of croup.  Mary was named for her maternal grandmother Mary McLagan, the same surname as my 5th Great Grandmother Agnes McLagan (David Sharp's aunt) so perhaps Jane is also related to me.  Other sibblings survived to adulthood with sister Ann becoming a domestic cook

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.