Frustrated

The pope experienced his first snow this morning. He shot out his cat door as usual after breakfast. I grinned to myself as I knew there was a bit of snow on the ground and it was pattering on the back windows.

He shot back inside just as fast with a surprised and bewildered look on his face. Frustration quickly followed as he struggled to know what to do himself. As I left for work he'd braved the cat door again. I doubt that he lasted long out there. 

My own adventure was nearly over within a couple of kms from home. The roads were treacherous, it was snowing heavily, and just as I was going to call it quits and head home again conditions suddenly improved. I continued on into town and work.

Rain, sleet, snow, bitterly cold temperatures, and thus the day passed.

When I got home Benedict was inside. He had a lot to say for himself. Twice I watched him poke his head through the cat door and withdraw back inside again. It wasn't his day.

In some ways it wasn't mine either. I felt unusually tired and flat, not like me at all. I wanted to hibernate and go to sleep. Perhaps it was the weather.

After a spot of house work I relieved some of Benedict's frustrations with a play. He's happily asleep in his paper bag now. Yes, he sleeps in a paper bag in the evening :-) 

Today's gratitude: The early night I'm going to have and the knowledge that tomorrow is a clean slate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.