Tourist

What a long day, but rewarding.

I accompanied the 12 exchange students plus the Scottish adult organisers/supervisers on a day out in Edinburgh. They got a tour of the Scottish Parliament, a walk up the Royal Mile, a tour of Edinburgh Castle and then fish & chips in South Queensferry looking out over the 3 bridges.

They’ll sleep well tonight. So will I. They enjoyed it. None of the students knew each other before, and they seem to be mixing well.

As we got off the bus at the end of the trip I heard my guest speaking Hungarian to another student. I already knew his mother is Hungarian, and it turns out Hungarian is the other student’s first language - although she’s Romanian and that’s her second language. So, yes, English is her third language. It might be my guest’s third language too...

I took more than 30 photos during they day, but most of them contain the students. They’re all under 18 and I don’t have permission to use photos of them on social media, so unBlippable.

The Blip is committee room 6 at the Parliament. They allowed us to use it to eat our sandwich lunch after the tour. Friendly and informal. I like that. 

I know two of the Parliament staff who were taking care of us  - from recent election campaigns. Nice to meet up again.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.