The Queen of Orange

Major storms were expected later in the day, but it was sunny in the morning, and I took the opportunity to simply sit and enjoy our backyard. Several hummingbirds are frequent visitors now, and I enjoy watching them. When the huge, showy, red monarda are in bloom, it's like putting a big red light in the front window. :-)

I was sitting quietly, alternating between taking pictures and reading my book, and feeling quite fortunate indeed that I didn't have to serve a few more hours of detention in the shed, when a huge orange monarch arrived and began tasting every fuzzy pink bloom on the joe pye weed. I stood up and took a few steps closer. The butterfly was enjoying the snacks so much that it didn't even flinch.

When the butterfly started closing and opening its wings, I tried hard to get a shot of the wings OPEN. This one above was the only decent shot that I got. You can tell by the lack of the two black scent/pheromone receptor spots on the hind wings (that males have) that this lovely lady is a female.

This is only the second monarch I've seen this year, so the experience was quite special. She sat and posed for me for at least 15 minutes, which is a long time for a butterfly. I took a whole bunch of photos and I've included one more in the extras for you. The extra is a side shot, and possibly actually a better and more detailed photo than the one above.

I am sorry to say that I see many fewer butterflies in our yard these days than I used to. So each visit is like a special blessing: a visit from an orange angel. The monarch seemed very regal to me, clearly the orange queen of our backyard kingdom. So that is how I will think of her: the queen of orange.

The soundtrack has to be about the color orange, so here are the Vines, with Orange Amber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.