Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yes, another hummingbird...

It's the time of year when I just can't help myself.  I know that in a month, most if not all of the males will be gone, headed to their wintering grounds in Mexico.  The females will hang around a bit longer and I will usually have juveniles through the end of September.  Still, the days are drawing to a close all too soon.  All a long way of saying that you will likely be seeing quite a few more hummingbird shots in the weeks to come.

My close second choice would have been this flying bumble bee.  After a slow start, the pollinators are all out in force now, much to my delight.  Lots of syrphid flies, butterflies, and bees.  Under the category of interesting, I witnessed a square-headed wasp take down a drone fly - it was amazingly fast and done with surgical precision.  The problem arose when the wasp tried to fly with its much-larger prey.  No winners there.

All is well in the Monarch Nursery and little M looks like he may be getting ready to molt into his second instar.  I'll know for sure tomorrow.  I will be making a milkweed run tomorrow morning for the bigger cats - basically they are eating/pooping machines now.

Hubs is headed to Alabama for the last time tomorrow.  His mother's house finally sold so he's going down to help his sister finish packing and then load her, MIL's dog and a truck full of stuff to head back to NJ.  My SIL will be staying with us for an indefinite period of time until she can get re-settled here in NJ and find housing.  And the dog, an elderly Bijon named Joy, will also be coming to live with us - I haven't mentioned this yet to the cats... Oy!

Tiny Tuesday tomorrow, hosted by Osuzanna so get ready to look at the little things!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.