Guess what I found today...

I was working in the garage this morning, taking down boxes of photographs and other mementos that have been sitting on top of the shelves in our garage for quite awhile. One smaller box said "Arv's Memorabilia." When I opened it I found a treasure trove of old family photographs. I am not sure when these went into storage but they are out now. I've already called Helena and she and I are going to go through the rest of them some time when we both have more time.

This photo was near the top and it immediately caught my eye. Arvin went on a year's trip with his mother from New York City to the west. She needed to go to the dry air for her health and Arvin went with her. He was around 8 or 10 at the time. He told me tales of how he met cowboys and wore a full cowboy suit himself. And here is the proof that that is true. Here is young Arvin, looking pleased as punch, shaking the hand of a man who to me looks like a slick urban cowboy. That white outfit tells me he was a showman of some kind. I was so happy to find this. It brought back all kinds of conversations Arvin and I had about that year he had away from the city with his mother.

In addition to working on the stored memories in the garage, I also took my Macbook Pro down to CityMac for a clean up. I've been getting the pop-up that says I need to install anti-virus software on a regular basis. I knew enough not to bite on the false ad, but I was getting tired of the pop-up. I also took one of my remote drives to save the data because I thought it was dying. They diagnosed it and it is fine. So I replaced the USB hub instead as that has also been acting flaky. Now everything seems fine again.

We are still basking in smoke in this area. I had the house closed up all day but now I'm letting some air in because it is cooler, and it does seem to be just a bit less dense. I look forward to our traditional high quality air around here. We pride ourselves on having some of the cleanest air in the US. Not so much right now however. Pride goes before a fall I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.