Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ready ...

I've been watching my first two Monarch chrysalids since they changed from caterpillars to green pods on July 28.  Yesterday, I saw that both were darkening, a sure sign that the butterflies inside were ready to arrive.  By this morning, both looked like this, with perfectly visible wings inside a now-clear chrysalis.  While I think Monarch butterflies are stunningly beautiful, it is the chrysalids that really dazzle me, perhaps in part because one day it's a caterpillar and the next a shiny green orb with a ring of sparkly gold. And in 10-14 days, a butterfly.  

I had a walk with my nature group this morning and we hiked 4 miles, enjoying lots of interesting flora and fauna and good company.  By the time I got home, I had one male and one female monarch, both antsy to fly.  I carefully coaxed the first onto my finger and he flew straight up to one of our big maples where he'll probably rest for the night.  The female stayed on my finger a few moments before she took to the sky, flying high above the maples and oaks, dazzling against the blue sky.

Today's butterflies were released in honor of my brother-in-law, Philip,  and my dear friend Lynn, both having left this world way too soon. 

We had a very big day yesterday, with many major milestones reached.  To celebrate, Hubs and I went to the State Fair for a dinner of not-very-healthy, but yummy food and a thoroughly enjoyable stroll through exhibits and other fair-things.  I was thrilled to find that I won First and Third place ribbons in the Animals - Color Division.  The third place shot was of a Ferruginous Hawk, which you can see HERE on FLickr and the blue ribbon winners of a male bluebird feeding two fledglings can be seen HERE.  As the Brits say, I'm very chuffed! 

And now, it's time to put my rather sweaty self in the shower!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.