DAY 4 - MONDAY 7TH AUGUST

BUSES, BEACH, PIER AND ICE CREAM

( but no fish and chips )

Becky and Mike were back at work today. They checked online to see if their train was running to time - but true to from it had been cancelled.  So they left the house sooner to catch an earlier one.

I had a solitary breakfast - Mike's home made bread which was delicious.  Then I set off to find the bus stop to go to Brighton for the day. Brighton is around 20 miles away from Burgess Hill.

Mike had done a bit of research online and given me a route to the bus stop - however when I got there the bus stop looked abandoned - no bus times or route info.  So I walked on to the next bus stop - same story.  Carried on walking and found a stop for buses going to East Grinstead. The opposite direction to where I wanted to go - so I crossed the road and found the stop I needed. 

Used my concessionary pass so it was a free journey.  When I got to Brighton I got off the bus when I saw something I recognised - the Pavilion  - and went to the Pavilion Garden Cafe where I had a coffee and snack. Bought a few things in the Pavilion shop and then headed for The Lanes - a collection of narrow lanes famous for their small shops and narrow alleyways.  I bought some jewellery on impulse - 2 bracelets and a pair of earrings.

Carried on walking down to the seafront and when I got to the pier I treated myself to a 99 ice cream cone.  Then I walked to the end of the pier.  It was very busy.  Took my blip shot from the pier.  It shows the seafront - including the British Airways i360 -  a 162-metre observation tower -  and you can just see the derelict former West Pier.

I walked off the pier and then along the seafront checking out the little shops near the pebble beach.  Lots of little units selling artwork and crafts.  I had another ice cream ( praline ) and a cold drink.  It was very pleasant just to sit for a while and watch the world go by.  The weather was warm - but a bit breezy.

I have added a few other photos of Brighton to my Extras.

Then I made my way back to find the bus stop to get home.  The bus was very busy and by the time we got to Burgess Hill it was packed.  Once off the bus I had to retrace my steps from this morning and get myself back to Becky and Mike's house.  I was doing quite well but then suddenly I just didn't have a clue where to turn next.  Used Google maps to help.  It said to go North along a certain road - so I had to use the compass on my phone to find North.  ( when I got my smartphone I never imagined needing the compass function ).

So I was glad to reach " home " in the end. Just chilled out until Becky and Mike got home from work - they were later than expected --- more travel woes.

Quick change of outfits and we were off into town for our evening meal.  We went to The Block and Gasket - a pub. I had already checked the menu online and knew what I wanted.  Fish and Chips. ( I had avoided having fish and chips in Brighton as I knew I would be having them this evening ) However when I ordered them the waitress said there was none left.  What a disappointment.

So I had to choose something else.  This was tricky as I had my mind set on fish and chips.  Finally plumped for Mac and Cheese pizza topped with cider and honey soaked chorizo.  However when my food arrived it was actually a bowl of Mac and Cheese.  The waitress was certain that this is what I had ordered.  She grudgingly took it away and said that there would be a bit of a wait for my pizza.  When it finally arrived it was delicious.  Very more-ish.  ( you can see it in my Extras )

So back  " home " for an early night.  Back up North tomorrow.

Steps today - 22,712

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.