FLOWER FRIDAY

I did my usual walk around the garden this morning, after my shower and complete with pink robe and flip flops, but was quite late because we were both very tired after our day out in Bath yesterday.  I checked the app on my phone and we walked almost 10,000 steps, which is good for me and it wasn’t all flat either, because Bath is quite hilly.

Mr. HCB was still up early and has already brought in two huge bowls of runner beans and peas, some blackberries, a few courgettes, including the Siamese one, four gherkins and his first two tomatoes.  He is a bit upset thought because they have both split - but as he says “We will still eat them!”  We have been invited out to dinner this evening, so will take some of the runner beans to share - I have put a photograph in as an extra to show the produce.  I wonder if runner beans can be pickled?

I love these little borage flowers because not only are they a pretty dual colour but the little hairs on the stems are attractive too.  I don’t actually use them as decoration or to eat, but our chef friend Darren uses all sorts of flowers and he would probably like some of these to “pretty up” a salad.

Borage (Borago officinalis), also known as starflower, is a wonderful plant to have in the garden because it attracts bees and most of us realise the importance of looking after our bee population.  Many years ago it was believed to be an anti-depressant and sometimes is grown by beekeepers (like our neighbours) to boost honey production, so not only is it an ornamental plant, but is also edible and medicinal.  Apparently, it has a mild cucumber taste and the leaves can be used in salads, as well as the flowers and of course, if you are into cake making, the flowers can be candied for decorative purposes.

I think it’s going to be an easy day today and of course, I don't even need to cook a meal but I guess at just after 11 a.m. I should go and get dressed, but if not, it won’t be the first day I have eaten lunch in my pink robe!

"The leaves and floures of Borrage put into wine 
     make men and women glad and merry, 
          driving away all sadnesse, dulnesse, 
               and melancholy, 
                    as Dioscorides and Pliny affirme.  
Syrrup made of the floures of Borrage 
     comforteth the heart, 
          purgeth melancholy, 
               and quieteth the phrenticke or lunaticke person."
John Gerard
‘The Herball, or General Historie of Plantes’ (1597)

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts on my Bath collage yesterday - I apologise for not responding but when we got home, we were “bushed” - we both realise we aren’t as young as we were but we will soon bounce back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.