Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

A small window - SilS45

..onto the world I used to work in.

Today I met my ex-business partner, R, at the Southampton City Art Gallery for a perfomance of Kathakali.  Kathakali means 'story-telling' and is dance drama that emerged from the Hindu temples of Kerala in Southern India.  R is still working and is currently publicising this tour.  It is very much the sort of work we used to do together - press work for arts companies and festivals (ie stories to newspapers, etc).  It was an absolute blast, though I can't say I exactly regret gaining my liberty!

The company is superb and, having taken my camera, I accidentally landed up being official photographer.

This blip was taken near the beginning when Kalamandalam Vijayakumar - a master of his craft - was demonstrating how each movement represents a specific idea or character.  Watching performers through my career as they warm up then perform, I have always somehow preferred the rehearsals because of the insight given into the work that makes up a show.  However, the costumes were totally amazing and I couldn't completely deprive you, so he is in full regalia in the extra.

Okay, that's quite enough from me.  Hope your weekend's being brilliant to you  xx

PS: I have put this in for the SilS challenge, not because it's silly in itself but because there is a lot of pantomine and humour in the performance, which probably comes out best in the Extra.  Many thanks, Admirer..

PPS: Yes, that is orange make-up on his face, not just bad photo colour ;))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.