Ryokan

As my friend who used to live in Japan told me, "Stressed Japanese businessman like to jump on a sinkansen [bullet train] and go to a ryokan [traditional hotel] to relax". After my second day with NTT I wasn't stressed, and didn't take a sinkansen, but it was good to get the "Romancecar" from Shinjuku to Hakone and check in at the Fukuzumiro ryokan. My bed was made up by a young woman in a kimono who will also bring my breakfast tomorrow. Unfortunately I could not arrive in time for an evening meal, so all I have had to eat was a beautiful marshmallow which was wrapped in a leaf. Then I went to the male onsen [thermal bath]. After washing fully, I shared this with an older Japanese man, with whom I chatted briefly (in English!) until he left and I had it to myself. It was very relaxing!

Once the private bath was free I had to try it. As with all the others, water comes in at 65°C but the steady temperature is about 30°C, I'd guess. It's long enough to sit at one end with your feet against the opposite end: very comfortable, and room for two. It was amazing, but would be better if it were shared with someone.

By opening three layers of sliding wooden panels in my room, the first with paper "panes", I can see the river outside whose rushing waters are the relaxing soundtrack to my stay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.