Best Baked Limerick

Today was Strete Village Show - the first for two years. I entered a handful of classes and was awarded first prize for my plain scones ("Beautiful flavour, sweet and light, delicious") and for my limerick about our Village Post Office (see below)! Also picked up second places in two photograph classes - both pictures that I'd previously blipped.

As fellow photographers, you might be interested in the judge's comments. First, on my broad-bodied chaser dragonfly, for the 'Amazing Nature' class:
"An excellent photograph. The subject is beautifully isolated from its background, and the detail of the insect, expecially the wings, is exceptional. Very unlucky not to be placed first!"
And then, on my bee and flowers, for the 'Summer Explosion' class:
"Very colourful photo with the bee and flowers summing up the season of Summer. Although the bee is the dominant subject, the flowers provide context."

It's a nice occasion that provides an opportunity to bring villagers together, although - as with all these things - it probably only attracts a minority of residents.

Oh, here's my winning limerick (Molly is the owners' dog!):

Up the hill from the beach, hot and sandy,
You fancy a pasty - how handy!
Take a step and a hop
To Strete post-office-shop:
Hello, Monica, Molly and Andy!


Have a good weekend, blipmates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.