Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Next Stop: Gambetta

Today, my friend from Irvine took me and another girl from the EAP program on a little tour of downtown Bordeaux. Amanda took us to see several churches and I couldn't believe how close the churches are to each other. They are not even separated by a mile. It's rather amazing how many churches there are in Bordeaux.

The churches we saw in particular are:
- La Cathédrale St. André (pictured behind the tram)
- L'églishe St. Anne
- La Basilique de St. Michel

We were going to see another one, but we couldn't find it. However, we did stumble upon the manifestation (demonstration, protest) about Gaza needing to stop the massacre of the Palestinian people in Israel. The funny thing about the manifestation was that we were urged to not be near the protest when it happened, but it was interesting to see a French protest. It was rather calm and the people were just walking down the closed tramway lines chanting something about stop the killing and peace.

After my day with Amanda, I did a little grocery shopping and general shopping. When I got home, my host family threw a dinner for my roommate's birthday, which was like 3-4 days ago. Rosine, my landlord, invited her best friend Christine. The dinner started off with an apératif. We had chorizo, pretzels, and a drink with anise. Then after like a half hour we moved into the dining room and we had avocado in small avocado dishes. Afterwards, we had pâté with bread. Then we moved onto salad, potatoes, and the main course roasted duck wings. It was really good. However, I don't eat much to begin with so I was already full by the middle of the main course. Well anyhow, after that we had cheese and more bread, and then we concluded with a gallette, which was so good!

By the end of the dinner, I was on the brink of exploding. My belly had never (well maybe not never) had ever been so full before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.