Mother and Cub

We started our holiday with 4 nights at a lodge in the Selous Game Reserve. We went out on one half day safari and one very long day one. But it was worth it even if we were exhausted. This is a little visited game reserve and it is vast so most of the time we had to travel a long way to seek out the animals.

This lioness and her cub were two of an extended family of 12 lions: one male, 2 lionesses and 9 cubs. While we were there Daddy Lion was absent. The rest were just sleeping, playing or like my photo being groomed by mum. There were just 3 jeeps watching them and we stayed for a long time just enjoying their antics.

The lodge itself was good: delicious simple home cooking with lots of vegetables and fruit. The bandas were very comfortable though power was a bit unreliable.

On the first day we visited a local Masai village and visited the primary school. I could have stayed there all day. I will post some pics as extras when I return home.

I don't think I will have time to write too many comments on your entries but I will when I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.