Red hot chilli peppers

I went down to Homebase this morning, not to buy plants but to see if I could scrounge some of those 1 tonne bulk bags, the ones they use for sand at the builders' merchants. 

We need them to contain the Himalayan Balsam we're going to be pulling from along the Black Lynn Burn on Sunday - our first 'Keep Oban Beautiful' event. They very kindly gave me six. 

Buildbase very kindly gave us six too - I'm frequently surprised how local companies support us by giving such items free. We always make sure that their generosity is publicised. 

I'm not sure how much we'll get done - we only know about four volunteers and one has cried off today! It's a shame when so many people say they want to support us and then they can't be bothered to turn up!

Anyway, having been given the bags at Homebase I went back and bought a lovely Charm chrysanthemum - amazing value at £4.97. Good for a Blip at some time in the near future. While I was there I took a few pictures - this is of a display of peppers - very bright. My extra today is of a rack of dyed heather - why would anyone want to buy a dyed heather?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.