CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

An unusual garden flower

In the warm late afternoon air I went looking for a flower to add to today's Flower Friday challenge. The garden is looking a bit bedraggled and most of the flowers have had to fend for themselves this summer. My attention span has seemed limited.

There were some fine candidates, particularly the Sollya heterophylla I bought this spring which has been in flower continuously and is now also forming its pretty seed pods. But I have lots of time for featuring that plant.

Instead I've chosen this nasturtium flower, a single specimen on a tiny 
plant which seems to have appeared from nowhere.  i think it must have self seeded as a cross between any of several different nasturtiums I've bought in the last two years.

I just like its colours, although the flower is a bit molested, probably from tiny slugs, bearing in mind the thin trail across part of a petal. They don't last long and produce seeds quite rapidly. The green leaves belong to a very aromatic small-leaved basil through which it is growing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.