Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Llanelli to Burry Port

A lovely start to the morning and nice and still on the North Dock for my swim.  Until now I have been doing widths and trying to keep my eyes on dry land but I had decided I was going to go for the length this morning.  I got into a nice rhythm and was able to do two laps, which totalled 1,800m. So I think I now have a time for my sponsored swim "Guess My Time" sweepstake.  The closest will win a Hotel Chocolat Nano Bars collection.  I was somewhat surprised that it took me about 29 minutes to swim the 1,600m target.  I had expected to be much slower.

Then we got on the bikes to cycle to Pembrey Country Park with a pit stop at The Pavilion at Pwll.  It doesn't look anything special but they serve really good food!  Then it was spitting a bit so we decided it was time for jackets. We had some paclite Goretex jackets but didn't find them very breathable (although the trousers are fine) so last year we treated ourselves to some proper cycling jackets.  At the time it felt quite indulgent but today when they were used for the first time in anger they were worth every penny!  They kept the wind out and us dry when there was a sudden shower at Burry Port.  As the wind was so strong we decided it was better not to go to Pembrey as Mr T was coping well, but better safe than sorry.  

So today is a collage of the sunrise this morning, Burry Port lighthouse and the view from Pwll looking back to where we are staying (on the right of the bay).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.