Marsupium Photography

By magi

control

Day 1 of the Research Software Engineering Conference held at Museum of Science and Industry. Today was really busy with lots of interesting talks on testing scientific software, workflows and the future of RSE. I must admit I am somewhat worried about Microsoft's Azure cloud and AI offerings. Currently, they don't charge people (scientists only?) for their services. I am not entirely sure what their business model is: hooking customers on a free drug to charge them later, or - more worryingly - trying to collect more data to feed the AI. To some extend it also stifles innovation: it is very hard to compete with someone like Microsoft or Google in general, but maybe we can come up with bespoke solutions that lead to other ideas. I guess the thing about computers and software is that it costs not very much once it has been developed (other than hardware) so it is naturally monopolising. I just don't like all the idea of all that knowledge (both technology and data) in the hands of a few entities.  I did manage to escape briefly to have a look at the steam engines. I just love the way they are mechanically regulated. Later on the dinner was held in the power hall among all the steam engines. Looking forward to day 2 now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.