Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Memories

We popped over to Walsall RFC to watch our nephew play in an U19 Colts fixture against Old Luctonians from Hereford.  A close first half was not repeated in the second half with the visitors romping away to a 42-21 victory.  We were also there to wish his father a happy 58th birthday.

It's shocking to realise that it is 40 years ago since I played rugby at the same level.  I was a second row, mainly because being taller than the rest of the players was the only pre-requisite.  I can promise you in all my years of playing rugby I never got as high as the players these days; lifting was actually against the laws of the game.  

I was taken by the almost balletic quality to the shape of his arms.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.