Flower Friday : : Dahlia

We still have a lot of roses, on at least their third bloom now, left in our garden, but by the time I get around to photographing them the light is too direct and the breeze has come up . That was the case today, so I decided to play with my camera settings and a dahlia to see if I could take advantage of the difficulties. I liked this effect, but of course I can't remember which setting I used to achieve it. I should keep some kind of notebook, but I spend enough time faffing around with the camera as it is...

OilMan has the same problem. He plants twenty different kinds of peppers and then can't remember which one is which. The other day he came in with a bag full of peppers, all different sizes and colors, and asked me to do something with them. Size is a pretty good indicator of heat, so I only put one tiny chile  in my concoction of sautéed peppers and onions with sausage over polenta but it had a definite kick to it. What am I going to do with the other fifty tiny red chiles?
Maybe I'll dry them and string them and hang them in the kitchen...

My English friend has a beautiful garden, and a notebook which I bought for her at the Luther Burbank home and garden a few years ago. I could get one for OilMan, but I'm pretty sure he wouldn't use it!

Thanks as always to Biker Bear for keeping up the Flower Friday challenge even as she keeps us a mad travel schedule!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.