A time for everything

By turnx3

Heron

Monday
Our fine sunny weather continues, so I got out for a walk this afternoon at Sharon Woods. I arrived just at the same time as the Sycamore cross-country team arrived for their practice run - poor timing I thought, if I want to see any bird life or wild life - it was a big group of kids! I let them get a decent head start before I followed. I didn't see a great deal as I went around the Lake, but as I was going through the gorge trail, a lady in front of me stopped and pointed out a very small snake. I wouldn't have seen it if she hadn't pointed out, as it's markings blended in quite well with the stony trail. Having returned to the lake, I noticed a lady standing on the bridge, taking pictures. I walked over to see what had captured her attention and saw this heron standing quite close, and not at all bothered about being the focus of our attention. So my walk was more productive for photographs than I expected!
I was sickened to wake up this morning to the news of the mass shooting in Las Vegas - my thoughts and prayers go out to all those who were injured, and the families and friends of all those killed in this senseless violence.
One year ago: Bike ride by the canal

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.