Abandoned Building

A rather large one.  Tantallon Castle is a 14th century ruined curtain wall castle on the edge of a cliff overlooking the Firth of Forth. It's a fantastic castle to visit.

My attempt to get a photo of an abandoned building today for this week's challenge was very nearly thwarted.  I got up early and went to Hungary House, a lovely ruined estate worker's cottage in Gosford Park, only to find that it is now a private residence undergoing renovation.  Then we went for a walk along the beach at Yellowcraigs, with the aim of photographing a disused WWII lookout bunker.  But my battery died in the cold before we got there.  So I nipped out just before sunset hoping that the low sun would light up the castle, and making good use of my Historic Scotland membership.  But the sun was behind a cloud when I got there.  Luckily it came out after a short while, as closing time was fast approaching, and I got some great photos.  Extra is the sunset a bit later on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.