Tiny Flame for Tiny Tuesday

Who would think that such a tiny flame would cause a large problem.
 
It’s the pilot flame of our gas fire in the living room, and on Sunday evening we were feeling a little chilly (to say the least) and thought we would put the fire on.  Now the pilot light went out when we changed the gas (propane) back in April, and hasn’t been lit since.  Something to do with a very mild summer I think.
 
Would the pilot light stay lit?  Of course not, in fact it was so small and yellow it was a job to get it lit in the first place.  So we (I) gave up until Monday morning when I vacuumed out the dust and gave the jet a poke and a blow (technical terms – standard procedure), but no success, so I ordered up a service with the installers/engineers and ordered a replacement pilot assembly to be fitted at the same time.
 
In the evening I fooled the pilot assembly to stay on while the fire was on (enough heat from the fire so it wouldn’t trip) expecting it to go out in fail safe mode when we turned the fire off.  To my surprise as the evening went on the pilot flame went from weak floppy yellow to strong clear blue – the heat must have burnt out the blockage – and what’s more the pilot is now working properly.  One embarrassing call to the engineers to say that we don’t need the pilot assembly, but keep the date for the service.
 
Sorry if you have glazed over.  Now for a bit more techie.  Shot taken with – yes the Tamron 150-600, but with 65mm of extension tubes attached to get the close-up.  Don’t worry, tomorrow may be the last Tamron 150-600 day for a while as I’m having my ‘carpal tunnel syndrome’ in my left hand fixed on Thursday morning, so I’ll be relegated to selfies with the telephone unless I set up something in ‘the studio’ so that I can manage something until I can hold the Tamron again.
 
Many thanks to Wendy for hosting Tiny Tuesday
 
 
Ps - Another techie bit – the flame looks as if it is in front of the spy hole. This is due to the difference in focal length of blue light compared to the rest, most likely exaggerated by the telephoto lens (at max, 600mm) being pushed out further by the extension tubes.  I’m sure someone can come up with some figures.
 
Pps – with my left hand out of action you won’t get interesting essays like this – I guess you are thinking “WIN WIN!!”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.