Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Main takeaways

I went to the Sunday night prayer meeting tonight and as it was at the end of a special weekend conference, the first part of the meeting was obtaining feedback on the main takeaways. My blip is of the list which was actually written on a whiteboard, but has been given some treatment in Picasa!

G went off to school for a very early start. The local equivalent of Ofsted are onsite, so it is a bit frantic there this week. Needless to say, she was pleased to be back home. I made myself scarce when the cleaner arrived and ran some errands, one of which was to get the Volvo washed inside and out. A trip to Carrefour was required as well.

G's Skype lesson was rescheduled to an earlier time, so I went to the meeting on my own - mainly to deliver some yummy Puranmal samosas to Brian whom we took out on Thursday. He loves Indian food, so was game to try one. (The prayer meeting was good too!)

I have started using Grammarly to help with my writing and one of the things it does is send me a weekly report about my writing... here are some stats from the 23-29th October report.

"Your vocabulary was quite voluminous last week. You used more unique words than 98% of Grammarly users."

Productivity: You were more productive than 94% of Grammarly users. (Number of words checked: 11,407)

Accuracy: You were more accurate than 53% of Grammarly users. (190 alerts shown)

Vocabulary: You used more unique words than 98% of Grammarly users. (2,431 unique words used)

At this point, to celebrate GrammarFest 2017, I was given a "Last Chance" offer to an annual subscription of Grammarly at 45% discount. Unfortunately, the email went into my Junk Mail folder, and I only saw it today, so I've missed the 31st October deadline.

Moving on, my Top 3 mistakes are:
1. Missing comma in compound sentence (98 alerts)
2. Double period (62 alerts)
3. (This fascinated me) Unnecessary ellipsis (62 alerts)

I had to look ellipsis up as I could never get my head around grammar in school and still don't get it. I have no idea how I passed my English Language O Level.

So my conclusion is... there can't be a lot of regular journal writers using Grammarly as I can't possibly use more unique words than 98% of their users and at 94% more productivity, they can't have a lot of writers. I wonder if any of my regular Blipmates have even noticed that I've been writing better, more correct sentences!!! :D

And it is already showing me 16 "advanced user" writing issues with this journal entry. 4 are for word choice, 3 are for passive voice misuse, 3 for improper formatting and there are 2 very wordy sentences. Oh well. I'm not ready to shell out $140 to find out what they are. GK over and out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.