Japanese White Eyes

These cute little birds were flittering in a fruit tree and it took me quite awhile to get even a halfway decent shot......I had remembered seeing a large number of them in this same tree last year so I went looking for them. When I read a little more about them, I found out that they were introduced in the last 1920s in the Hawaiian farm lands to control insects. Now they have increased in number and are eating the food the native song birds require. There have been a decrease in the native birds in the areas where the white eyes are flourishing. Too bad that when we humans interfere with nature something always seems to suffer. 

Today was a lovely day starting with an early Hawaiian Church Service on Kanapali Beach, then I bought a necklace at a craft market, later we went to the Aquarium and were back in our condo for lunch by 12 noon. After lunch we drove south and explored a few beaches we hadn't been to yet........NO snorkeling today but we scouted out where we want to go tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.