Today's Special

By Connections

Shelter From the Storm

Snowy has made himself very much at home in the bird feeder over this spell of windy, wet weather, much to the chagrin of the little birds who regard the feeder as theirs.

Even though I've seen him exit through one of those small spaces in the feeder many times, I still marvel that an opening his head almost fills can accommodate what looks like a very well-fed torso! It's a good thing that squirrels can stretch out so much, as seen in another view of Snowy in the extra photos.

After taking many photos through the windows and sliding door that look onto the deck, I took advantage of a brief break in the rain and went out to get a little closer to my subject. Snowy ignored me for a few moments, but then took a big bite out of one of the suet and seed cakes in the feeder and exited -- with some difficulty, given how he'd been stuffing himself. 

He spent about 10 seconds on the deck railing, keeping an eye on me and gobbling up his last snack, before heading out (see extras). 

I never tire of watching squirrel antics!  

Blip 1890

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.