Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Dr. Michael DeLong

Every three months I see Dr. DeLong, the nephrologist who monitors my Chronic Kidney Disease.  Because I see him like clockwork, last December's visit fell on the same day.  He wore a different hat then but really outdid himself today.  I told him that I remembered what he told me about why he does it.  Often the bearer of bad news, he does whatever he can to help put a smile on the faces of his patients.

You'll have to read that other blip because my feelings about him haven't changed.  The news he delivered to me was decidedly different than a year ago.  My GFR is 41.  That means my kidneys are functioning (at least on the day my blood was drawn) at 41% of their capacity.

I have oodles and oodles of doctors. Dr. DeLong is the goofiest.  It takes me 90 minutes to reach his office but it's worth every minute. Thanks for the smile, doc!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.