No such thing as a free lunch?

Today I returned to work for a free lunch. Or was it free? In order to get this lunch I had to work "hard and honestly" for 25 years for the Swedish State! Along with the lunch I got a gold medal!
In reality the "hard and honestly" section of the regulations is much harder to measure that the time you were employed, but most people I worked with did work hard and generally I think people are honest.
The other participants you see here had also worked for the state for 25 or 30 years, except for the two at the far end, the Principal and the HR manager, who undoubtably work hard but haven't done the time yet!
Back in 1985 when I started my first, temporary, employment as a Swedish civil servant I'd have been very surprised to learn I would end up with this lunch! 
The lunch was excellent, the discussion interesting and there were plenty of reflections on the changes that occured during our time at work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.