Leiflife

By Leiflife

Oh, Christmas Tree!

The season has had me spinning, caught up in a whirlwind of happenings not of my choosing. Yet my surrender led me to special moments, quiet inner turnings that just might see me through the hullabaloo. One of these inner turnings allowed the introvert to sit quietly making cutouts to go on a Christmas tree. On top of the odd assortment of lights went dancers, fairies, and angels; went children hand in hand; went a dog and a cat and a bird. To supplement those of this year, I brought out many made for other Christmases, in other years. And I liked the result. The tree would represent the lighted center of my world. 

The tree would make it possible for the introvert to turn extrovert for just one evening. On Saturday I  hosted a party for the employees of Realizations: The Walter Anderson Store. And the quietly lighted center held, as I welcomed family, friends, and guests. They had come down the path with its delicate solar fairy lights directing them to my door. And they found me at home. At home with my helpers for the evening: Pam, our manager, John, my brother, and my sister, Mary. Not to mention Pearl Cat, who received attentions due with queenly aplomb... 

And the room which had witnessed so many dances, solitary creation, and grandchildren's play, amazed me as it adapted to tables brought in for plenteous food, and folding chairs set out to provide seating for the many who came. And I... I nested within my hosting self and trusted the magic to serve its purpose until I found myself alone once more in my refuge with my cat. And the Christmas tree... 

Best viewed large...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.