Truss

Some of my flowers. Thanks to tips from Dad and his help with tying techniques, it looks like I may finally have uncovered a dormant tomato growing gene.

Growing up Dad would plant in excess of 100 tomato plants so that once blight and other diseases accounted for some, he'd be left 100 plants to tend.

I can remember jobs involving removing the laterals and watering at the roots. Invariably the crop would ripen while we were away on holiday and we'd return at the end of January to endless tomatoes.

Mum spent many hot days and years making tomato sauce, spaghetti, and puree. All were sensational and put any commercial versions to shame.

We had so many tomatoes I went off them. With hindsight that was silly. Nothing I buy these days compares to the taste of home grown.

My old place didn't allow the amount of sun I can get at my new place. This year they're in pots and maybe next year it will be a raised garden.

You can see a nearly ripe one in the background. After this weekend's hot temperatures several more are ripening.

I'll still be buying them at Christmas but they'll be supplemented by my home grown ones too :-)

Today's gratitude: For another good day at work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.