creative lenna

By creativelenna

we are walking!

I was treated to this lovely broad skyscape when we picked up Chloe after our brisk walk and did our slower walk up and down the street with her. She loves it and we joke it's our "cool down". This wide sky just made me take a deep breath and feel grateful!  :0)

It has been 4 full days now that Steve & I started walking briskly, about 1.5 to 2 miles, morning & afternoon. It has made a big difference in how his cranky hip is feeling (much better!) and a huge difference in my activity level. Previously, I did dance & pilates a few times a week but my step count usually was only between 2,000 and 4,000 steps. Today my steps are almost at 11,000, wow! And it is really not that hard, I just had to make my mind up to do it. 

This was not planned, and it was not a "resolution", just something that Steve suggested when we were talking about some changes I was making in my diet. He said, "Do you really want to burn some calories? We could walk - AT A FAST PACE (can you tell I usually dawdle?!) for 30-40 minutes twice a day. I always did this to get in shape for whitewater." (kayaking)

So I accepted his challenge & his rules (heehee). Because we have committed to doing this together, we are quite committed! I can see by looking at the calendar that sometimes we may have to adjust the time or maybe skip one of the two walks . . . but that is okay. We have a goal, but we can go with the flow. I am feeling more muscles than ever before, I did get a blister on one heel (had to change shoes) but I am feeling so much better. My new way of eating is Dr. approved and it's actually going quite well. I think all of this is just what I needed. I'm feeling happy and want to wish you a Happy New Year too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.