Wings of the Dawn

If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.           
                                    (Psalm 139:9-10)

It often happens that grief at parting from my kids is comforted by beauty, and this morning was no exception. We left Mourão at 2am, to get Julia to the airport in Lisbon for her flight to Manchester; the poor child is working nights, beginning tonight.

Slept in a cold car for a while until it started to get light, and then walked out onto the boardwalk beside the Tagus (that's the Vasco da Gama bridge in the background). The beauty was indescribable, changing constantly until the sun came up.

We were going to see Lisbon, but neither Mafeli nor I were up to it, so headed for home and bed. Am now going to backblip for last night, apologizing for the poor service, but all I can do to just keep going at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.