Pylon Parakeets

This morning I read the introduction to Wonderland, A Year Of Britain's Wildlife, Day By Day given to me by my daughter. Ring-necked parakeets were mentioned. They have been common in London parks and other areas for a while but they've only reached the Fishers Green area of The Lee Valley Park in the last couple of years. I've photographed them in ones and twos from hides but today was my first shot of a flock in flight. I took it a 4:00pm, the days are lengthening palpably. :)

The subject in the book today is the smew. I met birder, tremendous knowledge Dave, in the Bittern Hide and he had seen a female in a nearby lake earlier. He told me that often the females, known as redheads, and the juveniles fly here leaving the males behind in colder climes. I'd love to see either, the males are very striking, intricately marked, black and white ducks.      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.