lovelife209

By mindful_life

Practice makes happiness??

I didn’t come across any flowers today that I wanted to photograph so instead I thought I would use the prompt ‘practice’ from ‘capture your 365’ which I saw on someone else’s blip....

Practice... what does it mean? A doctor practises medicine, we might practice yoga, or an instrument or a new skill. By blipping I guess I am practising photography as well as writing (and trying to practice the correct spelling).

On a daily basis I am trying to practice mindfulness. In essence this is being more mindful of what we do and being aware of our surroundings and how things feel. Like the water rushing over your body during your morning shower, the texture of your cereal when you take your first bite or the wind blowing against your face when you step outside. By practising mindfulness it helps to stop and breathe and appreciate things that would otherwise pass you by.

It can help with anxiety, stress and I feel helps me to be happier in myself.

My photograph was of the moon as I stood at the bus stop this morning. It didn’t come out very well so I practised using some filters until I was happy with it!!

There is a saying that ‘practice makes perfect’ but I don’t believe in perfection. I believe we are all wonderful and individual and should practice things that make us feel complete, happy and content. The simplest things like practising paying some a compliment can be rewarding for you and the recipient- then you can practice receiving them!!

What are you practising at the moment!?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.