Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Daily walk

The default dog walk is not particularly uplifting to my mind; an afforestation with occasional (very) views and either this wide track or narrow, muddy wallows made worse by off-road equestrians. However, when I actually stopped for a moment and stepped outside the trudge I heard a woodpecker drumming, great tits calling and other cheeps I couldn't identify. The woodland is waking up and behind this man-made, unattractive facade a whole ecosystem stirs. Nature couldn't care less whether she's photogenic or not!
When Dad is with us we seem to help him spend a lot of money! Where he now lives, next door to and under the eye of my sister, he has less opportunity to be out and about, largely because her commitments to family preclude it and also because retail opportunities are further away. So we had a trip to Currys/PC World (my idea of Hell) to see about a new laptop. He wants the absolute basics: something he can record his memoirs in, download and/or print them. That basic. And, of course, impossible. After a frustrating time discovering that the smallest program package and cheapest option was to effectively rent the package for a year and then return and sign up for another year (the alternative of just installing a package and having it ad infinitum was much more expensive) we walked out empty handed. An old codger living in the sticks with no access to a large local retail park can't be expected to wander in and out of shops at will. I'm not sure if these companies quite realise how rural people operate with long distances and expensive fuel, let alone elderly rural people with very limited transport.
Fortunately, our next retail plan was easy: lunch :-))
I've spent the remainder of the day finally backing up photos. I've never done this before (I know, I know) mainly as time doing grunge tasks on the computer equate to life-sapping boredom, but I had a terrible warning a couple of days ago when both LH's and Dad's computers went down and lost stuff. So here I am blipping a long one, watching my new portable hard drive (bought May 2015, I see) load up.
Light refreshment now necessary ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.