The Deep

I have the good fortune to live about 10 mins from the coast and I visit it as often as I can. As one who lives on an island, the sea has been part of my life for as long as I remember. Despite my life long acquaintance it remains a mystery to me. I am always amazed by the rise and fall of the tide. Of the colours reflected from the waves, by the noise of water rolling across small pebbles scattered on the shoreline and breakers crashing against harbour walls. Todays blip is a small window onto the deep.
The sea must be treated with respect as it is a tameless entity. Although we say we control it, for  energy, in effect, we don't. We simply have learned how to tap into its power. This mill-pond can soon become a maelstrom in a few short moments.
I often find myself standing, just looking, imagining, reflecting at the size and dynamic of this vast expanse of raw energy. It makes me feel small, insignificant. It reminds me of the limitations of humanity, that despite all our knowledge, we still only understand a small part of this created universe. Whatever your view of origins, it points me to stewardship of creation rather than seeking domination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.