Port Washington Harbor

I've had the nicest day. I left about 7:30 a.m. and drove 45 minutes north to meet my sister for breakfast. That's about half way for both of us, & we had so much fun, as always. When we finished I decided to drive to Port Washington--it's only another 5 miles from where we were--to walk around the harbor, as I haven't been there in a very long time. There were thousands (& I'm not exaggerating) of geese there; they were on every one of the boat docks, under and on the piers, walking, swimming, flying.....and incessantly honking! But it was such fun to stroll around taking pictures. 
This is the Port Washington Breakwater Light, built in the Art Deco style in 1931 to guide boats into the harbor. You can actually walk all the way out to it and stand under the arches (I've done it a few times), but only in the summer and only if it's not windy, as the walkway starts off (for the first 25 feet or so) having railings, but after that, you're walking on narrow concrete with water on both sides. I've put a picture of the start of the walkway into the extras, and you'll see why it's not safe in winter. I also put a picture of a couple of seagulls in, only because it's the first picture I've ever gotten where a bird has a fish in it's mouth, so I was excited! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.