Different

Well, that was different.

I did a bit of work in the morning. Then at lunchtime I drove 96 miles (155 km) north to Aberdeen.

I parked in University Road, outside the flat my grandparents lived in. I walked around King’s College for a while (and used the toilets in the Taylor Building) including a wander past the College chapel where my parents got married.

Then I went into the city centre and spent 2 hours drinking coffee and gossiping with Jean. She was a good friend of the First Wife when we were all students, and through us met and married one of my best friends from schooldays. I was best man at their wedding.

George died of cancer about 5 years ago. 

After that, I headed off to a storytelling event organised by fellow Blipper Fin. It was fantastic. Some very humbling stories from some very brave people. My story was about my time as a suspect in an attempted murder investigation.

I didn’t do it.

I left Aberdeen at 10pm for the 2 hour drive home. Quiet roads. Sunday drivers long gone. Snow. Fog. Lots of music.

A different kind of day. Emotional. Tiring. But uplifting too.

The Blip is the sports pavilion at King’s College. Much used by my late dad (football) and I (rugby). 

This was one of the songs Wave 102 treated me to on the drive home. Seemed appropriate as Annie is from the same (brilliant) vintage as Jean, Fin and I, and comes from Aberdeen.  

Pale

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.