Lightbulbs

It seems that almost every time I turn on a light there's a flash and the bulb explodes. It must be my powerful natural spark!!
So we live in a perpetual twilight with half the bulbs needing replacing!
Today got off to a fraught start with Miss E. She's rubbish at getting up and every Saturday wails that she doesn't want to go swimming, hates swimming, doesn't want to get dressed, doesn't want to clean her teeth and - in case we missed it - HATES swimming!!!!!!
As usual we said fine we'll cancel it. Why would we pay for something she hates?!!!
That set her off wailing again. It's the only time she gets to see Miss A.
Uuuughhhhh!!
Miss L was upset because she wants to see Miss J and go to Harris + Hoole.
In the end Mr K took Miss L off leaving Miss E wailing behind the bookcase in the living room.
Sigh.
Usually I get in the bath when they're gone and have a leisurely couple of hours. Today I thought it was best not to leave her in danger of bringing a bookcase down on top of herself so went into the living room.
I didn't speak to her as I didn't want to set her off again. I had a cunning plan of putting something on the TV to draw her out without her having to engage with me.
I started with a documentary about Neil Armstrong which was really interesting. I had it deliberately loud and eventually heard her rustling and gradually moving out from the bookcase behind me to get a better view.
When that ended I brought out the big guns and put David Attenborough on. It was a fascinating programme about the fossil of a giant sea "dragon" which was found in Lyme Regis. It was a murder mystery and they were piercing together how this massive predator lived and died. 
It was interesting enough to get her out from behind the sofa and snuggled up next to me. 
And announcing that we should go there and look for fossils.
We used to camping all the time in Weymouth when I was the Little Misses' age and I loved fossil hunting in Lyme Regis. As soon as we get the campervan - hopefully the weekend after next, whoop whoop!!!!! - we'll be heading down there!!!
After a galling couple of hours following Watford losing yet again I headed over to Ikea to buy lightbulbs, coat hangers, a doormat and a laundry basket.
And one more shelf as Mr K has finally got round to putting them up in our living room alcove (these things take time!!) and we discovered we had room for one more.
I searched for hours to find a bayonet bulb for my favourite lamp (which exploded last time I turned it on!!) Eventually I asked an Ikea man and was fairly impressed by his encyclopaedic knowledge of lightbulbs. He knew where it was and that it was 90p. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.