The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Not a...

...grey wagtail.

I had been out for an afternoon walk around Dallam Park looking for the grey wagtail that has been eluding me all month. I dipped again, and the year list remains stubbornly on 107.

That was more than compensated for by stopping on the prom at Sandside to watch the sun setting towards Hampsfell with the Arnside viaduct below it crossing the Kent estuary. The sky was so bright just before this that I couldn't see the tongue of cloud creeping across the sky until the sun became partially obscured. At this time of the day the light changes dramatically moment to moment.

Earlier in the day I uploaded the results of my contribution to the national Big Garden Birdwatch, 16 species in the hour and 53 birds in total with highlights of 15 goldfinches, a splendid male bullfinch and a neat little marsh tit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.