Death in the Afternoon

An important part of Mourão's main festa are the two bullfights, today and Sunday, neither of which we can go to. But I walked up to our small, simple bullring as it was drawing to a close, saw the horses in their lorry, and the ambulances ready by the exit.

A quote by Ernest Hemingway, from the book of my title:

I suppose, from a modern moral point of view, that is, a Christian point of view, the whole bullfight is indefensible; there is much cruelty, there is always danger, either sought or unlooked for, and there is always death, and I should not try to defend it now, only to tell honestly the things I have found true about it. To do this I must be altogether frank, or try to be, and if those who read this decide with disgust that it is written by some one who lacks their, the readers', fineness of feeling I can only plead that this may be true. But whoever reads this can only truly make such a judgment when he, or she, has seen the things that are spoken of and knows truly what their reactions to them would be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.