Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Chamonix

My alarm went off at 5am this morning which was a bit cruel as I only got to sleep at midnight last night. No time to dawdle, I had to be up and ready for the taxi pick up to take me to the airport. I had a pleasant breakfast in the lounge at the airport after a very easy check in at T5 - nothing like a warming porridge with honey, cinnamon and banana to enable me to face the day after so little sleep!

It was sunny when I arrived in Geneva and the bright sunshine and blue skies remained all day. The mountains were looking magnificent after a fresh snowfall last night, there was still snow clinging to the telephone (or electricity?) wires overhead and the trees were totally covered in snow. I was collected by an organised transfer and there was one other person from the group in the car, which meant I had to chat and be social rather than sleeping as I had hoped to do.

The hotel we are staying in is very modern and very pleasant. Gavin had finished his meetings by the time I arrived and they had already gone skiing, trying to make the best of the good weather today. It has been a long time since I have done a corporate trip away, and I have forgotten how  much effort it takes making constant small talk and chatting to people I don't know, when all I want to do was go out by myself and take photos! Still, this is a freebie weekend and I should therefore not complain, it is not about my photography this weekend but its so frustrating not to be able to take photos when I want to. Gosh I do sound like a grumpy git, it must be the lack of sleep!

A few of the non skiing people in the group were waiting to meet me in the lounge when I arrived which was very sweet of them, and as soon as I had dropped off my bags we walked into the town for an excellent lunch at a rather smart restaurant. We all only had one small course as there is a big dinner tonight - there will be 129 people at the dinner and we are taking over an entire restaurant. I think Gavin has to do a speech.

I am sorry I missed such a beautiful day to take photos - this was a grab shot as we were walking through the town to the restaurant for lunch. Its a rubbish photo so don't feel like you have to say anything pleasant about it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.