The HeART Of Things Day 2

I wrote about the HeART Of Things exhibit yesterday - an exhibit being shown all week in my church in Maidenhead. I wasn’t planning on going back today, but I had a very unexpected visit from my friend Vanessa as she was passing by on her drive home after several days away with work. She was tired from travelling and I talked her into staying the night and driving home tomorrow in daylight.

Fortunately I had enough of this and that to put together a half-way decent meal! And as we are I suddenly thought maybe she’d enjoy the exhibit, so I suggested it. Yes please, she said! Vanessa has an art background so I knew it would be right up her street!! Here she is standing in front of a piece called ‘To Fly On Chicken Wings’.

We both enjoyed the visit - I did, even though I’d been there the evening before. The artist, Paul Hobbs, again gave 3 short talks on 3 different pieces. He’s shown here giving some insight into the sculpture called ‘Ten Words’ - it relates to the Ten Commandments - the Ten Words is what they are called in the Jewish faith.

The other sculpture - ‘Attitudes’ - is an interactive one - based on the Beatitudes in the gospel of Matthew. Participants were encouraged to rearrange the building blocks - the view at the top left was actually taken last night and the one on the bottom right was how I found it when I returned this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.