The windmill also rises

They were in a wind-powered cable car crossing the Epsizyr Breaks, a huge area of semi-wilderness on Canthropa Plate, nearly a quarter-way spinwards round the Orbital from Ziller and Kabe’s homes on Xaravve and Osinorsi.

I help Ailsa shift a delivery of logs before trekking north. There’s snow on the hills and it begins to fall as I get to Altguish. There’s snow on the road all the way to Braemore Junction and over the fain. The road to Badralloch isn’t that bad, and I’m parked at the road end by midday.

I set off. About an hour to the first gate and another 25 minutes to the deer fence. At Will and Cathy’s I head up hill, crossing the ridge at a rock strewn high point. I only come close to losing a welly once.

Debbie and Phil are looking for John’s National Insurance number. Kath and Kiriko are in the kitchen with Islay and Toma. John is lying in the barn, the coffin covered by blankets to keep the birds off. He has Five Plays by Chekhov, a torch, a teacup, his lunchbox. I say goodbye.

Vivienne arrives with Richard. There’s beer and whisky and wine. Pasta with roast veg and passata. We share each other’s sadness and talk, among other matters, about stratified turbulence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.