Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Snow falling all day

Last night Gavin and I had a lovely Valentine's dinner. However, it will be memorable not for any romantic reasons but for how we got the giggles. Half way through the evening Gavin knocked over his glass of red wine by accident and it fell on the poor unsuspecting and beautifully snow-white Samoyed dog lying just next to our table. In Switzerland you are allowed to bring dogs into restaurants, no matter how posh the restaurant is, and the owner had brought her two dogs with her to dinner. I know it is not funny and I felt very sorry for the dog but for some reason when we were talking about it later we both could not stop giggling and eventually once we got outside we were laughing aloud. I mean, what are the odds of going to a restaurant and spilling your red wine on a white dog. And it would be such a white dog too! If it fell on Murdoch you would barely notice it, but on this lovely dog it looked very odd. The owner wiped all the wine off and we of course apologised and offered to help - thankfully the dog did not seem at all upset by the incident.

This morning it was clear when we woke up but the forecast was that it would be snowing by noon. I decided not to go skiing, which was the right decision for me - Gavin went up on his own, and said the visibility was very poor. Instead I arranged to meet two of my English friends for coffee, and when I walked down to the cafe at 10.30am it was already snowing and did not stop snowing for the rest of the day. Thomas and his friends went skiing later and he loved the fresh powder although some of his friends who are not as experienced skiers as he is found it quite difficult conditions, especially with not being able to see beyond a metre in front of you.

I have photographed these trees so often before but when it snows I love how they stand out against the white conditions. I increased the contrast as it was snowing so heavily that it was originally a very misty and washed out image.

Tomorrow Thomas' friends go home and Luke arrives with two of his friends so it will be like changeover day with a morning of laundry and remaking beds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.