Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Canal Closed Ahead

I hope there was a sign at the next junction, I'd have hated to cruise over 10 miles from either direction only to see this sign 200 metres before the bridge, which has scaffolding completely around and underneath it!

I'd not seen any other signs in the 2 miles of walking along the towpath prior to coming across the blockage.  Having said that I do know that most canal goers do check the appropriate websites regularly for information on blockages, particularly at this time of year, which is the peak for work on the network.

A lovely day and it was too much of an enticement to get the walking boots on this afternoon.  The most surprising sight, and I didn't get the camera up in time, was to see a buzzard on a bird table, feeding on suet balls.  As ever, it was off the moment I came around the corner of the path; they must have amazing eyesight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.