Family

So today, just two weeks to the day since Jim passed away, he was laid to rest. The celebrant at the new crematorium in Hoddesdon gave him a sensitive and fitting send off, and so many friends and a huge extended family, together with those closest, were there to pay our last respects to a genuinely lovely man.

We had some nice chats with old friends. It was lovely to see Roy, Lynn, Sarah and Cathy. To be able to reminisce about those early venture scout days we shared with Jim. We promised we would stay in touch. One thing Facebook is good for.

I learnt things today about my family that I didn't know before. I was humbled by the tribute Martin paid to his Dad, his hero. It was composed and mature. It made me proud of our young people and my family, however distant. There were tears, because life is cruel, and this shouldn't have happened to such a young healthy man. But I feel proud to see how this family have come together to support each other. There will be hard times ahead, but there is strength and love. The reminder of the fragility of life, makes me remember what is really important in life. Our family our friends, and making time. They are precious. Money and material things are not.

My thoughts are with the whole family today. Rest in peace dear Jim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.