the edges of my life

By raej

Tripods, Mojitos and the gods

A bit of a blather this blip. After one and half days of agonizingly bad packing I said goodbye to the mountains of Tam Dao and headed down to Hanoi. Arrived at the hotel and got told disapprovingly I've gotten too skinny - again - aggghhhhhh- then bit the bullet and bought a walking stick..... I chickened out last time I was here - not wanting to look like a walking/hobbling victim but after two close calls in the old quarter gutters I thought damn it just do it - so I did and hey I like being a tripod :). Taxis are happy to take you on short rides, it's a great gutter avoider, wonderful when I need to stop and rest and hey rather than being a victim I could crack someone on the noggins with it .... Plus people knock me less and a sprightly granny even gave way to me today :). So why didn't I do it sooner? Yup pride. But today is face reality day - have recognized I am officially jobless, homeless and sort of rootless (stop sniggering you Aussies) - bite the bullet day
So now in a bar next to the family shrine about to embark on another walking stick experiment - learning the tripod walk after 2 Mojitos........ Wish me luck eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.